Provisional coverage is valid for 30 days. During that time, you'll need to contact your insurance company and provide information about the new vehicle. If you currently have an active auto insurance policy in your name, state laws or your insurer may allow you a short period of time (such as a grace period) before adding your new car to the policy. The grace period generally ranges from seven to thirty days, depending on the insurer and the state.
Second, the fact that your insurance contract was terminated for non-payment will affect your history and future insurance policies. That's why it's important to find out how much time you have to contact your insurance company and what coverage your new car will have according to the specific details of your policy. Read on to learn how long you can drive a new car without insurance and what happens when you're caught driving without insurance. In some states, insurance companies are required to grant customers 10 to 20 days of grace periods for car insurance.
Remember that it's illegal in almost every state to drive a car without insurance without proof of insurance, and the consequences of driving or being involved in an accident without proper insurance can be severe. Learn more about the schedule for getting insurance, and then check out some of the best auto insurance companies in the country. Other insurance companies may charge you a late payment fee or set a higher policy premium for the next renewal of car insurance as a late payment penalty. If you pay with cash or buy a car directly from a private seller, you probably won't be asked to present proof of insurance to take possession of the vehicle.
All but two states (New Hampshire and Virginia) require some form of auto insurance at all times, and even those states require a DMV confirmation to drive without insurance. If you can't buy car insurance right away, or if you don't yet have insurance in your name, talk to your insurance agent to find out if your insurer offers a new grace period for car insurance or not. This is the amount of time that state laws or your insurer allow you to drive your car without insurance or delay paying your car insurance without interrupting coverage. When reading state laws on auto insurance policies, look for the grace period and cancellation regulations.
He has spent many hours helping his customers understand the insurance market so that they can find the best auto, home and life insurance products for their circumstances.