State law requires the insurance company and the landlord to submit proof of insurance in Arizona within 30 days of the initial registration. Insurance companies are also required to routinely notify MVD of all policy cancellations, renewals, and new issues. If you currently have an active auto insurance policy in your name, state laws or your insurer may allow you a short period of time (such as a grace period) before adding your new car to the policy. The grace period generally ranges from seven to thirty days, depending on the insurer and the state.
This is because you must have insurance once you become a resident of the state. Arizona insurance companies may offer other types of optional coverage, but you need liability coverage to drive around the state. Whether you're navigating the congested highways of downtown Phoenix or taking a leisurely stroll through the stunning Grand Canyon, make sure you have the right car insurance in Arizona. We'll discuss car insurance coverages in Arizona and the discounts you can get.
Most lenders in the state require comprehensive auto insurance coverage and auto collision coverage. However, even if you are not required to have them, you may want to add these coverages depending on the value of your vehicle. These coverages pay for the repair or replacement of your car if it is damaged in an accident, stolen, or damaged in any other type of covered accident. Learn more about car insurance coverages.
Get an Arizona car insurance quote Whether you're looking for a new career or just want to learn more about Progressive, here's all the information you need to get started. Get to know our culture and our people Insurance doesn't have to be complicated. Get simple explanations for all your questions. Get quick tips for living life, from owning a car and home to going on adventures.
Buying Arizona minimum liability auto insurance coverage is the easiest way to meet the financial responsibility requirement. If you are going to buy a new car, then you know that you must also have insurance or present proof of insurance. However, you shouldn't let emotion stop you from attending to important details, such as getting car insurance coverage. If you pay in cash or buy a car directly from a private seller, you probably won't be asked to present proof of insurance to take possession of the vehicle.
For insurance companies, it's similar to having a bad driving record, which is why drivers who let their insurance expire for 60 days pay approximately 13% more than the average premium in Arizona. Other insurance companies may charge you a late payment fee or set a higher policy premium for the next renewal of car insurance as a late payment penalty. Contact your insurance company as soon as possible to inform them about changes to your policy, especially when it comes to confirming coverage for a new car. This information is not an insurance policy, does not refer to any specific insurance policy, and does not modify any provision, limitation or exclusion that is expressly stated in any insurance policy.
Save money while protecting your most valuable assets by combining your Arizona auto and home insurance. If you don't have car insurance yet, you'll need to get a new policy before you can legally drive your new car. If you miss a deadline, you could end up driving without insurance, which could result in legal fees, higher car insurance premiums, loss of your driver's license, and more. Because you have to present proof of insurance before you can take possession of a newly financed car, some insurers extend comprehensive and collision coverage to current customers in good faith, regardless of whether their current policy has that type of coverage.