While several states give drivers 10 to 30 days to report an accident, Arizona requires drivers to report the accident immediately. In Arizona, the statute of limitations for car accidents is two years. The clock starts ticking on the date of the incident. If you try to file a lawsuit after this time, the courts are likely to dismiss the case.
That's why it's imperative to gather the facts and take immediate action, especially if an injury doesn't manifest for weeks after the incident. After a car accident, you should call an insurance company as soon as possible to report the accident and begin the claim process. In Arizona, the insurance company responsible for paying for a car accident is the at-fault driver's policy. You can call your own insurance company to report the accident.
You can then contact the other driver's insurance company to file your claim. Be sure to do so as soon as possible, within 24 hours, to avoid missing any deadlines that the insurer may have. Most states require you to report an accident right away, but some states allow up to 30 days. In states where you are required to report it right away, you are expected to call the police at the scene of the accident.
After an event as traumatic as a car accident, it's normal to want the legal process to end as soon as possible. Regardless of who is at fault, all accidents involving more than one party should be reported to your insurance company, and the sooner, the better. Every insurance provider has a different rule, so check your policy or contact your agent to make sure you comply with it. Arizona follows a pure comparative fault rule when it is determined that both parties share the fault for an accident.
If you think your two-year deadline is running out, it may be time to contact an experienced Arizona car accident lawyer. Learn more about when you might need an attorney after a car accident and use the features on this page if you're ready to contact an Arizona car accident lawyer in your area. Unlike the traffic laws of most states, the Arizona Traffic and Vehicle Regulation Code assigns much of the responsibility for reporting accidents to law enforcement officers, not to the drivers involved in the accident. While you should report most car accidents to your insurance company, not all accidents in Arizona should be reported to the police.
In no-fault auto insurance states, when you file a claim with your own insurer, it's not possible to get compensation for pain and suffering. Arizona's comparative fault rule applies even if it is determined that you are more responsible for the accident than the other driver. While the statute of limitations refers to accidents involving a court case, you must report your collision to your insurance company within a certain period of time. If you (or another driver) wait to file a claim, insurance companies may suspect why you waited.
Arizona, like most states, requires the owner of a motor vehicle to maintain a certain amount of insurance coverage in order to legally operate the vehicle on the state's highways and highways.