A second or subsequent violation within 10 years will result in a one-year suspension. If you caused an injury or death, the penalties are more severe. The maximum penalty for a first-time misdemeanor DUI offense is 180 days in county jail. A felony DUI offense carries the possibility of several years in state prison.
You can face criminal charges for driving under the influence of alcohol for the first time in California. You can also have the DMV suspend your license. The DMV can automatically suspend your license. This suspension begins 30 days after your arrest.
Drunk driving penalties in California vary depending on whether it's your first offense, whether it endangered other people's lives, and your age. Most penalties involve license suspension, fines and jail terms. If you feel that you have been arrested and unjustly accused, you can fight back. These penalties are slightly more severe than the first offense.
If you are facing a second DUI offense, you will most likely face one or more of the above penalties.